Fear, Inspiration, and a new year of goals

Wow, it’s been a while since I’ve posted anything on this blog.

Since I finished the Art a Day for a year project, while I haven’t been drawing every day, I’ve certainly been keeping busy, with both visual and movement art.

Now it’s time to begin a new project.

But first I wanted to talk about fear when it comes to creating a piece of art:

What does a blank page mean to you? To me a blank piece of paper is the most intriguing and exciting thing I can imagine…and also the most terrifying.

How do you go about translating what is in your brain onto the page when you know that it will always be better in your head than out in the real world? How do you go about creating something when every possible story has already been told? (No, seriously, look it up. There are really only seven basic stories that you can tell and all of them have been told in millions of different ways.) How do you gather the courage to even attempt to create art when there are so many other talented people in the world who are creating their own masterpieces?

I don’t really have any answers to these questions. I’ve just been asking them to myself all day after coming home to stare at that blank page waiting for me.

All artists have moments of self doubt. They may not even be moments. That may be your entire career as an artist, continuous self doubt.

But the fact that no matter what you create, there will be at least one person in the world who is affected by it. Is that enough of an incentive to create something then? You may never even meet that person. You may die not knowing if your art has any value or if it touched anyone at all.

I say all of this because this new project that I’m working on is going to be very difficult for me. Drawing is not the issue, it’s capturing the spirit of the story I have in my head and putting it on paper that is driving me up the wall.

I’m going to have to keep going no matter what, as I feel like this is a project that needs to be created.

But I just wanted to put it out there in the world, this pondering of new creations, the terrified feelings of not being able to do everything perfectly, as I know there are thousands of other artists who are going through the exact same thing.

I’m right there with you. And I’m sure we’ll push through the panic and create something that, while we know will not be perfect or 100% accurate to what we have lodged in our brains, will touch someone somehow, somewhere in the world.

Let’s be afraid together. And then get over it and get shit done.

Leave a Reply

